Tom’s story

31Dec09

I’ve been thinking about how I can make my piece more rounded in terms of gender and have taken on board the suggestion that I experiment with looking at the mood disorder from the viewpoint of the male by including the story of  Tom which was the counterpart to Karen’s story in the medical text I researched.

Initially I was sceptical that this could work as I was focused on the issue of PMDD which is an extreme form of PMS, which obviously is a woman’s issue, but as the work is more about the effects of the mood disorder on those around the sufferer I feel that it would be a valuable addition and progress the work to make a partner piece from this other perspective.

Initial thoughts on certain changes I can make are 1) The voiceover – This I feel should be narrated by a male voice but in keeping with the first because I feel that these inflection devices worked as explained by my last post. So the same method of recording will be used. 2) The imagery –  The imagery I use will be a fantastic oppurtunity for me to tie in some of the research I’ve done for my dissertation topic, especially my third chapter into the future which I am currently thinking about regarding the modern use of digital photography and how we collate our images to suggest something about how we present ourselves and our lives in modern society. This is concerned with social networking sites like Facebook and Bebo and Myspace etc. as the modern equivalent of the photograph album or slide show (which was the focus of my previous piece.) I will still use found imagery to accompany the narrative but the noise of the slide changing could be ommitted and a more technological look at how we show our images could be incorporated. The talk we attended with Chris King is relevant here as he talked extensively about this new movement in photography and how digital has affected the materiality of images which in turn has an effect on nostalgia. Chris has very kindly agreed to take part in a taped interview to give his point of view as part of the primary research for my dissertation. This will tie in quite neatly.

Possible images I may use will, like the first video piece, also be found imagery in that they will be images found on broken laptop computers, supposedly lost or forgotton, again, in keeping with the previous piece.

PRESENTATION – I wasn’t happy with the presentation method of the minor project at the interim crit because the speakers on the TV weren’t the best and the DVD flicked a little at the start. However I did like the look of the analog television and suggest the comparison in the work be mirrored in the execution by using perhaps a laptop for Tom’s story to suggest this change in technology.

Another angle is to perhaps present them in a uniform fashion but include mouse click noise instead of the slide change noise on the change of each slide for Tom’s story but I do think that the presentation needs to mirror the content. 

I am also currently toying with  projecting Karen’s story because this is more likely how the transparencies would have been shown originally, although I did think that the TV worked very well except for the technical failings but then perhaps this adds to my overal point in an accidental sort of way.

Suggested links with Gillian Wearing and other installation research will be my priority once we return to uni after the New Year Break.

No Responses Yet to “Tom’s story”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

