Revised Dissertation Plan

14Oct09

dissertation

After grappling with The Optical Unconscious I have found myself with a creative block. Last night that block was eased a little by The Return Of the Real by Hal Foster, in my opinion a more approachable read which makes some of the theories discussed by Rosalind E.Krauss a little more accessable. 

I feel that this reading is relevant and extremely useful in terms of my minor project and I certainly intend to use it as reference for the work I produce, but in terms of the dissertation I have decided to write about what I feel that I can grasp, this might seem rather simple and so be it, simple but hopefully (and I say this with everything crossed) well executed. In my opinion, for this purpose, I feel that this approach will carry more merit than attempting to include sophisticated art theories that I don’t truly understand yet and pretending to understand them would just be ego.

Because of this block I have been unable to focus my efforts into any coherent form. I’ve collected over 3000 words worth of quotes from useable material but still have no chapter outlines and therefore no idea how it will all come together or indeed if it will all come together.

A suggestion was made that I start with a spider diagram to sort out the main areas that I would like to cover and for each one file the material I have so far. This will allow me to see where my interest lies and which areas I should pursue. I am conscious of choosing the right ones as the word count of 5000-7000 doesn’t allow much room for expansion or pointless tangents.

Yesterday I began to discover which areas of research I had developed the most and thus feel the most invested in. I short listed these areas and have used them as a basis for my revised dissertation plan. A chapter comparing the analog snapshot to the new digital equivalent; which I was going to include at the end, seems to be the crux of the essay and so will be a running theme throughout, rather than just consigned to the final chapter. This has also prompted a possible title change which I feel reflects my intention with more accuracy.

3 Responses to “Revised Dissertation Plan”

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?


Leave a Reply

